Put My Name In Lights

Put My Name In Lights by Linda Lee

It must have been a difficult thing living in the days of Noah.  “Everyone did what was right in his own eyes” the bible says.  Oh, wait, this is 2016 and everyone does what is right in his own eyes.

I have learned by trial and by the fire of the Holy Spirit that I am not the judge, jury and conscience of every person I come in contact with.  I know that I, myself have blind spots that cause a bit of abrasion with others, with family.

I was innocently driving along yesterday and I saw a “brand name” main line church sign.  The name of the church was in appropriate size black letters, and below was a light up digital sign with the name of Pastor Baxter flashing rythmnically.   It caught my eye, then it caught my heart.  What kind of Pastor puts his name in lights?  -I mean, besides the t.v. evangelist?

The Apostle Paul said, “I die daily”.  We are told that love lays down its life for its friends.  Jesus laid down-voluntarily gave up his life as a sacrifice for us.  He took the punishment for my sin.   And if we accept His great gift, we can live in victory.  I can be a saint.  So, shall I put up my sign?

That led me to Mother Teresa’s  kind of saint.  Could you see Mother Teresa with her name up in lights?  Come see me.  Applaud me.  I am doing a performance here at 7:00 p.m. come join the fun. – I don’t think so.

I have been in small country churches with choirs that think they can sing and bring honor to God but the sound hurts my ears, I have been in Mega churches with lots of lights and props and practices and expense and I have to admit, I was impressed.  But are we doing a performance here?  We now have counter-culture Jesus “stars”.  Groupies come to scream, to push and shove in line to be first in the “auditorium” to “save seats”.  They pay for tickets.

Jesus attracted great crowds.  I admit that.  He didn’t sell tickets.  He wasn’t welcomed into the synogogues.  He gave.  And he gave.  And then, he gave His life.  And so did Paul, and Peter and John.  No one put their names up in lights.

My hearts desire is to see men and woman set free.  I don’t expect to see my name in lights-that is not my goal.  I have wept with mothers losing a baby, aborthing a baby, with new widows.  I can tell you the hours I pray and read the Bible, and reach out to others, teach bible studies, but you know what,

I know that it is NOT about me.  Never was.  Never will be.  And as often as I embrace it, and more often I fight it, I am a servant–a bond servant of the most high God.  The light is in me, but I am not THE light.  Yashua (Jesus) is the way, the truth and the LIFE (light) no man comes to the Father except by Him.

I have said it myself, and often hear, in Christian circles “I led him to the Lord”.  Really?  Really?

You/I did not lead anyone anywhere–that is the job of the Holy Spirit.  So, take down your movie theater lights, put away your membership/ordination card, your diploma, certificate and just start loving people.  One by one, at the heart level, in the ditches, in the hospitals and bars and conflicted homes.  Let Yashua (Jesus) shine.

Leave a Reply

