The Esther Anointing By Michelle McClain Walters A Book Review

Obviously, we are dealing with a younger generation of women in the church today.  A new version of “church ladies”-that has less to do with pot lucks, proper dress and teaching Sunday School.

Forty years as a Pastor’s wife and a believer leaves me with some fifties traditions-I dare not call them strongholds.  I have heard and read the story of Esther hundreds of times, but never with the passion and Christian-feminism that Michelle portrays.  Her quote:  “Not at all like the feminism movement, this new breed of women will not attempt to carry out their mission copying the dress and behavior of men.  No, quite the contrary.”

The words, obey, submit, genteel…are never mentioned.  The actual story is not retold, but the reaction to the biblical account is spelled out in no uncertain terms.  Perhaps, (I am not sure yet) this is a more balanced approach to a Godly standard for women.  We are not weak, subservient, we are strong, mindful and capable women, influenced by the Godly leadership of a Godly man-not just any man.  There is a difference.

If I buy into this new “Christian Feminism” what will have to to leave behind?  Will I let go of traditions?  And which practices are just my strong preference?

We no longer have the cop-out of “this is what my church believe” or “this is what my Pastor said”.  We have to get alone with our Savior, mentor, brother and friend, Messiah and hear His voice for ourselves.  What is He tellling me to do?  What is He calling women to do and be in this world that we live in today?  I have to say I agree with author, Michelle McClain-Walters in the paragraph where she describes what God is saying:  “I have done everything I am going to do.  I have given you the authority to bind, I have given you authority to loose.”  See it is not about just getting up and coming out to a nice prayer meeting and saying “Present and accounted for.  No! It’s about walking into your created dimension, walking in what God created you to do”

Throughout the book, I found myself correcting one term Michelle used: doing.  All these years working in the church, I had to learn to just “be”.  Nevertheless, it is worth the read, no, it is worth the think.  Enjoy the journey.

 

By Linda Lee

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

